SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

About to take the plunge with..........

Hello everyone,

I'm a beginner and this is my first post on this forum so be gentle please.

I've been lurking in the sidelines for a while and have been keenly researching prior to taking the plunge and buying my first telescope. With my budget (£700 for scope and mount) and viewing intentions I'm going to go for the Skywatcher Explorer 200P EQ5 Pro Synscan Goto. I have been flip-flopping between the normal EQ5 and the Goto version for a while and have finally come to the decision that, as my intention is to do some astrophotograhy that the goto mount would be a good idea. Does anyone have any experience with this combination of scope and mount? And, also I'd be interested in other peoples opinions on my choice of hardware good or bad??

I live in a fairly light polluted area (Milton Keynes) but my girlfriend lives in north Norfolk which has dark skies so I'm planning to take the scope up there a lot of the time (Plus she has a garden which would be useful!)

Anyway, I just thought I'd introduce myself and let you know my plans before I finally take the plunge into the world of astronomy.

Clear skies!

Ed

Welcome Ed.

Have to say I have only been here for a few days myself.

Everyone is soo friendly.

As you can see from my first posts I am also thinking about going for that scope.

Good luck and enjoy your stay :D

Andy

welcome edf, still a noob myself but in my first six months i changed from a eq2 mount to a full goto very pleased with it for photography,off for my first attempt at saturn now.:D

The eq5 is capable of photography but you are at the top end of its weight limit a slightly smaller scope will give you a little more wriggle room for photography, (won't be as good visually however) you really would be better with a eq6 for photograhy with a 200p as its quite a heavy scope or this one might work better for photography with an eq5