Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Refractor or Reflector

Newbie here returning after 30 years away from astronomy.

So chaps what do we think reflector or refractor?

Has anyone tried this one out?...

Celestron NexStar 102 SLT Refractor Telescope

I can go to about £450 but after that....

I used a 6 inch refractor in my youth although I could never have afforded such a tool at the time and lent the same from a friend but was always a little scared of breaking it.

Hi Hex,

Well it depends on what you want to achieve and see but £450 can get you alot of good scopes new and second hand.

You could pick up a 12" standard dob or flextube second hand for £450 and that will give you great views of galaxies and the planets and you can re-learn the night sky at the same time.

Cheers

Neil

Hi, welcome back !

It all depends on where your interests lie. A 6" refractor is still a big beast and tricky to mount solidly.

A newtonian scope will deliver the "best bang for your buck" by far especially in it's dobsonian mounted form.

Apart from budget, do you have any other constraints such as portability, computer control, particular observing interests ?.

Hi, welcome back !

It all depends on where your interests lie. A 6" refractor is still a big beast and tricky to mount solidly.

A newtonian scope will deliver the "best bang for your buck" by far especially in it's dobsonian mounted form.

Apart from budget, do you have any other constraints such as portability, computer control, particular observing interests ?.

Roger that! I have a 5.25" refractor (133mm) - it is 7 feet long and tips the scales at 42 lbs. Mounting such a thing is never easy because a long tube is difficult to turn (and stop!) precisely.