Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Eyepiece range for Skymax 127?

Key

Hi,

My Skymax 127 came with 10mm and 25mm ep's and a 2x Barlow; but what would be the min and max size ep's that would still give good results?

As a newbie I'm not looking to spend a fortune but any recommendations on brands appreciated.

Cheers,

Key

Also, what's the widest FOV that would be useful in the wide-field ep? I see that there are some up to 100 degrees but is the FOV restricted by the diameter of the 'scope?

Key

I use anything from 32mm down to 6mm in mine. Occasionally even 4mm if the seeing is good enough, though objects to tend to fairly whip across the field of view at that sort of magnification without tracking. I tend not to use a barlow with eyepieces.

James

Thanks James,

Just what I wanted to know!

I had picked up elsewhere that 6mm to 32mm would be a sensible min/max under most circumstances, but it's nice to have it confirmed by a Skymax 127 user.

What FOV do your ep's have, particularly the 32mm? The supplied ones are both 52 degrees but a wider-field looks great in simulations - any real-life observations to make?

Key

All mine are 52 degrees, I've not tried anything with a wider fov.

I'm not sure what a realistic maximum field of view is for this scope. It may depend on whether you're using 1.25" or 2" eyepieces. I'm reasonably sure I can fit the entire Beehive in using the 32mm ep though, so I've not felt the need to experiment further.

James

I've recently added a Televue 32mm plossl for use on my 127 Mak after reading the various, and may I say excellent, advice on this site. Not had too many clear nights to put it through its paces but did manage an excellent view of the Double Cluster in Perseus using it.