Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

SW130P First Light, First Night & what a night

Hello fellow stargazers,

Well last night was my first night out with my new sky Watcher 130P on an EQ2.

Bought it off FLO who I might add have been extremely good at answering all my questions on emails.I have never owned a scope before so am a complete newbie yet last night was a fantastic night for me. I set up the scope outside on my patio at around 6pm I knew from the previous night that the moon was very low in the west along with Jupiter. Stellarium told me the star was Jupiter.

I found setting the mount to north very easy. Not completely accurate but enough for me to make observations easy enough. My first target even before it was dark was the moon, I used the 25mm EP and thought wow that’s good, then the 10mm, blimey even better! I then messed around with the x2 barlow and spent a good 30 minutes looking at the edge of the moon as that is all that is showing totally amazed by what I was seeing.

Once it got dark I turned my attention to Jupiter, I would not have much time on this target as it was already low in the sky and soon it would dip behind the houses that back on to my garden. Up came Jupiter! Even with the 25mm I could just about make out some of the moons. By the time I was using the 10mm and a barlow 4 moons where visible, I also am sure I could see two of the bands on Jupiter.

Happy that I had seen Jupiter for the first time, I turned my attention to the Orion Nebula. I must have calibrated my red dot finder bang on as on the first point at it, looked though the finder with the 25mm and bingo there was Orion Nebula looking right back at me! At this point the wife came to have a look and

was totally unimpressed by the whole thing, "is that it?" can't anything be closer?" I tried to tell her that this object was 1000+ light years away but it went totally over her head. She soon returned indoors back into the warmth.