Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Whats the difference between a Plossl and other EP's

Morning. Its another newbie question.

What is the difference between a Plossl and an 'ordinary' eye piece?

Looking here ...... Celestron ......

you can see Celestrons versions of a Plossl and a X-cel series of Ep's. Why have the two? In another post somebody suggested that using a Plossl would not be a good idea as they were uncomfortable for long periods of time. So why do manufacture's make them then?

This topic is really getting me :)

Cheers

The plossl design has become a basic standard over the past few years. Various manufactures produce similar eyepieces but of varying quality...when they are good they are very very good...when they are bad they're horrid!

I've been using TV Plossl's on various telescopes for almost thirty years and never had cause to complain.

The X-cel series, if you note, highlight the 20mm eye relief - this is the main difference - a good choice for someone who has to wear glasses.

Thanks for the info.

My daughter wears glasses hence the question about the X-cel series but at £60 a pop that's going to be expensive for 3 Ep's.

I've just found a primer about lens's but that shows about 8 different variety of lens's. It says that Plossl's are for medium strength so i'm guessing that is going to be the 18mm lens for an f5 scope after reading the another primer.

There's no such thing as an "ordinary" eyepiece. Each one is a variation on one design or other - the Plossl being just one of many.

The Plossl design is popular because it strikes a good balance between simplicity of design and a wide field of view.

Strictly speaking, a Plossl is made from two pairs of lenses in a very specific configuration, however these days it is not uncommon for a fifth lens to be added between the two pairs for better optical correction.