Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

C8-SGT or NexStar 8 SE

Hi everyone,

Over the next three months or so im saving the shillings for a new scope, the Celestron C8-SGT or Celestron NexStar 8 SE.

To be honest apart from the mounts that come with each scope, Single Fork Arm Altazimuth on the SE & CG-5 Equatorial on the C8-SGT there does not seem to be much differnece between the two.

Some minor things ie weight, slew speeds & tracking modes etc, what i am after is something giving good clear images, astrophotography suitable, compact really.

I'm not a complete novice but there are so many 'good' scopes out there, like my son in a sweet shop, he just wants them all :-)

I have read that the SE suffers a little wobble at higher mag in a light breeze which is not ideal for imaging, or is that wrong ? where as i assume what looks like a sturdier mount under the SGT this should not occur or at least not as much.

I was originally looking at a new 300mm reflector because i have only ever used those before, but as i understand these two scopes with there long focal length of 2032 can achieve better images.

I am not going to impulse buy as i want to use this scope for many years to come so i can be patient, i am looking at a budget of upto £1,500.00 all, i already have a few 1.25" ep's, filters etc.

Btw the ad for the Nexstar 8 sais this:-

FREE NEXIMAGE WITH THIS TELESCOPE PLUS Free More Powerful 10mm Plossl Eyepiece and 30mm for deep Space along with the Nexremote Telescope Control Software and Lead. EXTRAS COMBINED VALUE £194!!!!!! SAVE £290!! <<<< Is this a good deal ?

Whereas the SGT said :-

SAVE £100 RRP £1130 Free Binoculars, Kson Multi-eyepiece holder or Digi-scoping adapter (you Choose, leave note at checkout), and Includes CD-ROM "The Sky" Astronomy Software which provides education about the sky and printable sky maps, all with Free Delivery

I'm more interested in the setups tbh.