Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

what have you seen with your 130mm reflector

Hi Amy,

I don't have any pics to show, but in the 3 months Ive had my 130mm, I have seen much more of the sky than what my previous telescope could reveal. Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Venus planet wise, Orion Nebula, Pleides, Sirius, Aldebaran and loads of others.

In fact, I was awarded a bursary yesterday from my Uni (I'm a mature student) and I am seriously thinking of upgrading to a 200mm Skywatcher. If I could sell my Celestron Astromaster 130eq I definately would buy it. Any takers?lol!

I've been really enjoying my Astromaster 130eq since I got it last month. I've not seen as much as I would have hoped so-far but what I have seen has really blown me away.

I've mainly only been looking at the moon when its about and have been amazed with the craters. I've looked at Jupiter and can see the one cloud band but havent been able to see the Great Red Spot doh. I've also been looking at the Pleides and the Orion Nebula.

I saw ( I think ) the andromeda galaxy the other night but just as I found it a cloud went over it, then when i tried to get it back in to my focuser I lost it with a nudge as I hadnt balanced the scope doh.

Im trying to find some information on good things I'll be able to view with my 'scope, what have you guys been able too observe with your 130mm's? :)

Oo I also saw 2 satellite's the other night too which was pretty awesome and quite a surprise :)

Porl''

hi porl , well i only had mine for christmas too , and so far i have seen the moon , jupiter ,uranus , orion nebula , a few double stars , the pleides , andromeda galaxy and a few star clusters , also been experimenting with my modified webcam.x

I think my proudest moment with my 130mm scope was seeing M57 (The Ring Nebula). I never thought my scope would be able to see it but it did. Yes it was TINY but it was perfectly formed. Like a little smoke ring in the sky.

Other impressive objects were: