NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

What EP in the range of 9-10 mm?

I'm new in this hobby and trying to get a proper set of EPs. My scope is a SW Dob 10" and have already a couple of EPs that I'd like to complement with one in the range 9 to 10 mm.*

I am interested on experiences ie comparison between a TeleVue Nagler6, 9 mm and a Pentax XW 10 mm (other than weight and FOV).

I lived in a not too dark area and this also makes me wonder on the benefit of purchasing such expensive EPs. I've frequently read that if darkness is an issue, any inexpensive Plössl can do a pretty good job too...

Thanks in advance and clear skies!

Cloudy :D

Not sure what you are asking, nor what you want.

You ask about comparisons of Naglars and Pentax's, in the £300-400 bracket. Then switch to plossls that come in the £20-30 bracket.

The first 2 are premium and both will be good, very good. What will differ is how well either will suit you. One you will find better then the other for subtle reasons that another person would consider the other way.

Could you tell any difference between TV Radians and Naglars? Even though the cost difference is about double. Might you find the cheaper one better for you?

For budget then GSO and Antares plossl's are about £20, TV plossl's are about £75. Everyting in between - Vixen NPL's at £30. TMB Planetary's at £40-50.

I have a set of Antares W70's that a couple of weeks ago were used on a dob and they were pretty good, they are ~£60-65.

Have to say the only answer is to try a few and see how you feel. That means purchasing ones that you might consider not worth it.

General complaints are, Naglers have a warmer color then Pentax and are a bit more fussy about eye position but you get a larger FoV for it. Some prefer the warmer color others don't.

That's what I read, I only tried the one nagler I have and never used a XW. I would advise to try before buying if you can.