Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Observing groups in Wiltshire

causerino

Hello All,

I was wondering who meets up around Wiltshire, more specifically Bradford on Avon, Staverton, Melksham, as I live around there and would like to join an observing group as I am very new to all this and would love to learn how to observe the night sky properly.

Cheers,

Tom

:D

Tom,

I'm in a similar position - and location - to you, I'm in Holt and have been getting back into astro in the last few months. The Wiltshire Astronomy Society meet at the Red Lion in Lacock, and there's the SPOG Astro guys who are a bit looser and meet in various places around Salisbury Plain. Those are the only groups I'm aware of.

I'm up for meeting up and seeing of we can rope in some locals if you're interested. I'm going out scouting for suitable local sites at the weekend, we're not blessed with overly-dark skies...

Tom

The Salisbury Plain Observing Group meets at Bratton Camp nr Westbury sometimes and there are a few of us who do short notice gatherings there; if you PM me your email address I can send you further details of what the group is up to.

Jon

Tom,

I'm up for meeting up and seeing of we can rope in some locals if you're interested. I'm going out scouting for suitable local sites at the weekend, we're not blessed with overly-dark skies...

Sounds like a great idea, would be nice to have a group of local people wanting to do observing! Let me know if you find any nice sites, I've only lived around here for a short while so don't really know any where good to go!

Tom

The Salisbury Plain Observing Group meets at Bratton Camp nr Westbury sometimes and there are a few of us who do short notice gatherings there; if you PM me your email address I can send you further details of what the group is up to.

Jon

Thanks for the info Jon, is that at the car park just off of the portway road?

I have PM'd you my details.

Tom,