Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Anyone use SKEye - Android App

smeech

Hi

I'm new to this stargazing lark and was just wondering whether anyone uses SKEye? It's like google star maps but seems to run a little smoother. Only drawback of it is the planets aren't as prominant as googles version.

Pretty good though and might be worth a try for any of you phone geeks (like me).

They say (although without having a scope I can't check) that you can attach it to the scope (somehow) and use it as a goto (kind of). As I say though, i'd like the planets to be more prominant.

Do any of you know of anything similar (other than google sky maps) that may be better / more features?

Hi smeech!

I am the author of SkEye :)

Only drawback of it is the planets aren't as prominant as googles version.

I have added a search feature a few days back, which might help you a in locating planets.

But, in general, it is a challenge to squeeze all the data in the sky into the tiny screen of a mobile phone (unlike iPhone, there are a variety of screen sizes for Android out there.)

I am planning a much better interface for future versions, which will dynamically adapt itself based on the present positions of objects and on what is being viewed.

Hi HRJ,

It is a very good app, well done, just a few quick questions, i have a HTC Desire and when loaded onto my phone, it stops my phone going into screen timeout (even when not using the app), any way round this as the screen being on all the time drains the battery, also how does it work as a goto?

Thanks

Hi Lezah,

i have a HTC Desire and when loaded onto my phone, it stops my phone going into screen timeout (even when not using the app)

This feature was actually requested by a user and I made it the default.

Now, that you mention it, I should probably make an option to disable it. I am adding it to my TODO list.

any way round this as the screen being on all the time drains the battery,