Skywatcher 200P EQ5 PRO SynScan Problem

Hi All,

My problem is this, no matter how I balance the scope the stepper motors never give me full range of movement, ever (both of them). The motors sound good, no funny noises nothing but they always stall. I have tried removing all atachments from the tube to lighten it and that doesn't help.

The power supply is household 240v so there shouldn't be any issue there and it stalls when completely clear of any collisions. It appears the motors are not powerful enough to move the 8" reflector tube.

I am a noob which is why I have left it so long to do something about it (9 months), I gave up. Now however I have much more time on my hands so now is perfect for me to so some observing.

Thing is I really want to buy a camera but can't because I'll only be adding yet more weight it cannot move.

Is this a known issue or is my noobyness getting the better of me?

Your help will assist a very frustrated wannabe astrophotographer.

Regards,

Northerner75

Welcome to SGL - the EQ5 can take a 8" newt ok - I know because I used to have one!

Have you made sure that the axis locks are tight?

Make sure that you set the slewing speed to 9 (if it's set to 1 you'll not see any movement for a long time), setting the slewing speed to 9 will make the mount move quite quickly.

Can you take some pictures - as there may be something that it wrong that we could spot in a photo.

Cheers

Ant

are the motors cutting out as the scope reaches max elevation, With Synscan Handset you can set the UP/DOWN.....LEFT/RIGHT movement on the hand set

you need to go into the Utillities on the handset and then to ALT/AZ settings and set them readings to suit your needs. Also with the OTA fitted and elevated to its highest point ie 90 degres the botton of the OTA will catch the tripod legs so it is best to set the ALT setting to about 85 degrees

Thank you all replying.

bamus: