Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Arrggghhhhhh - what to do?

As a complete newbie I have trolled loads of sites + on here looking for info. I have finaly decided on a scope.......

Skywatcher Skyliner 200P Dobsonian.

(or so I thought) and have just read on here something about at 150x planets take about a minute to cross the field of view, is that correct?

I`m just concerned that every minute i will have to nudge the scope just to keep it in view!

Are dobs easy to turn, do they turn in small ammounts or is it purley free flow and you have to move it very carefully?

Also, is it possible to fix a goto unit or auto unit to this scope, as I can't seem to find one on the sites I have looked at?

Also, what is the difference between auto and goto or is it the same thing?

HELP!

:icon_eek:

Hi, an object will drift through the field of view when observed with a scope with no motor drives due to the Earths rotation. This effect is amplified with higher magnification. You can buy dobsonian scopes with motor drives now, but a lot of folks use them without and seem to get on fine.

A deciding factor on your choice of scope is your budget. Maybe you would benefit from a scope with an equatorial mount?

We all are only too aware of the mind boggling choice of kit out there.

What sort of things did you want to look at through the scope?

Saturn, jupiter, nebula etc in decent detail (enough to see the rings, red spot, moons etc) without it being a fuzzy blob but i`m not expecting super detail - also not fussed about photography either.

Thats why I opted for the 8 inch dob mentioned above, good all rounder.

The dob would be a good all rounder and to be honest a lot of nebula would be observed at lower magnification so they would still drift through the field of view but not so fast as when viewed at high magnification.

There is a dob users group on here and maybe they could better advise you better.