Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

The more I read, the more confused I get.

Hi all.

Total newbi here, so sorry for what could be a list of really dumb questions.

As my title states, I have been reading up on astonomy and telescopes etc, haveing been interested for years but not really had the time and the more I read the more confused I get.

I have looked around the site in the newbi section to try and reduce the ammount of repeat questions but can't find the answers to some. Also some advice about a 1st scope would be great.

My main concern is that I have set my sights too high, I would like to be able to see Jupiter, the cloud bands, red spot if really lucky plus the moons, as well as nebula, Andromida galaxy etc, I`m just wondering if that is poosible with the scope I have in mind for the budget I have.

I was thinking about the 8" dob: Dobsonians - Skywatcher Skyliner 200P Dobsonian as I have read the dobs are perfect for beginners. Can any body confirm if this scope (or even the 10 inch, I`m sure my budget could stretch that far) can show me the above?

Or can any body suggest something else and how big is the above scope, it's hard to tell in the picture?

Also, why to scopes need to be cold?

Sorry if these are all repeat questions, and thanks for you time.

Darren.

The scope you have in mind is perfect and will tick all the boxes of what you hope to get from it. :)

The scope needs to be cold to remove the thermal currents from the tube, which degrade the image. But with this telescope, especially if stored outside in a shed or garage, it will cool very quickly when placed outside.

On nights where the seeing allows, the scope will show Jupiter in all the glory you are hoping for. And Saturn will be fantastic. Make no mistake, the Skyliner 200P is a truly superb scope that belies it's relatively low price. And that's from experience.