What difference

will I see (or not is the case!) between the 150p and the 200p Skywatcher Skyliner Dobsonian. There is a £100 difference in price and I wondered if as a newbie I will see a distinct difference in what I will see from either telescope. This is the first scope that I will be purchasing and I want to purchase a scope that will last until I can progress in the hobby and afford something more advanced.

Best wishes

Paulie

You certainly will see a difference!! The main advantage is the greater area of the main mirror which means that you "collect more light". You will get better views of DSO's - and see ones that you won't see at all in the 150!. Although magnification is not so important in astronomy you will be able to usefully use higher magnifications on the Moon and Planets with the 200P as well. Either way you are investing in optics rather than an expensive mount - the sensible way to go IMHO.

As time goes on you could mount your scope tube on an Equatorial mount so that motorised tracking would be possible or , if you are feeling rich, goto and other posh toys are possibilities.

Both scopes are an excellent choice and you will see much in the 150mm but a lot more detail in the 200mm as it has 77% more light gathering capabilities, its the old adage aperture wins, your 200mm will come into its own when you want to progress to hunting down DSO and it should be possible, with the aid of some types of filters, and a dark site, to bring out some of the finer detail, but remember, its not Hubble, and you will not see the amazing images that you find in illustrations, but never the less it is a very rewarding experience and well worth the extra money IMHO.