Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Just stepping into the world of Astrophotography

CKemu

I have just recently been able to finally gather all the components together to start in the rather fascinating world of imaging the night sky.

Unfortunately I live in a city, and have a small urban back-yard, tihs combined with being VERY new at this field of photography has led to three rather un-spectacular photos from my first attempts, but of course we all have to start somewhere. But I shall present my fuzzy, and vaguely identifiable photos for all, as a reference point for my beginnings.

Hello Moon | Flickr - Photo Sharing! - Prime focus of the Moon.

Jupiter With Moons? | Flickr - Photo Sharing! - Well if I didn't tell you it was Jupiter, you couldn't tell I dare say!

Jupiter, sort of! | Flickr - Photo Sharing! - Focus, who needs that!

My equipment follows:

Meade LX90 8" ACF - UHTC

Nikon D300 (Had this for ages as I am a photographer, it is abit battered though!)

Meade Series 4000 eyepieces - 26mm, 12.4, 6.4 (77x, 161x, 312x)

Meade 2x Barlow

Dew Shield and Camera Bracket (for widefield) on order

Nikon T ring, prime focuse adapter and eyepiece projection adapter

Shutter release cable

iPad with GoSkyWatch, very usefull for finding out exactly what I am looking at.

I hope to share my photos with everyone via these forums, gain insight and critique as I go, rather looking forward to getting more practice in.

Assuming the sky is clear at some point this week, I hope to try some widefield shots, so any URLs or pointers you can offer for this type of photography will be greatly appreciated!

Welcome to SGL!

That's not a bad start. The moon is rather nice. The Jupiter ones are recognisable, and with a bit better focus and some post-processing in say registax or photoshop (to align the channels and pull out the detail) you'd get something to be proud of.

But be warned - its addictive :)

Helen