Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

2" Prime Focus Adapter Help!

jaskel

Hi all,

I just got a elim Prime focus adapter for my 400D SLR but I cant get it to focus no matter what I do... can anyone assist as the correct way to set this up?? im new to this so i have no clue! I assume it just goes in where the eyepeice goes and the camera goes on the end, then move the scopes focuser untill u get a focus?

Thanks guys

The one I got is: Elim-T 2" Prime Focus Telescope Adapter for Canon EOS (eBay item 110610318032 end time 11-Dec-10 15:50:21 AEDST) : Cameras Photo

PAAR-BF-I0602X-2T.jpg

I don't think you are doing anything wrong. I suspect that the problem is the telescope. I assume that your telescope is similar to the Skywatcher Skyliner 200P. This telescope, as do a lot of other reflectors, don't have sufficient inward focus travel to allow a camera to come into focus. There are a number of solutions to the problem though.

1. Photograph through a barlow lens. The barlow lens should move the focus point outwards and allow the camera to focus.

2. Move the primary mirror up the tube. You may only need a few millimetres to move the focus point . This can be done by adjusting the collimation screws and theit locking screws.

3. Replace the focuser with a lower profile one - expensive.

Peter

Check the scope first. On my 300P I found a thread suitable for a T-ring on the 1.25" adaptor (about one year after I got it - did I feel a numbnut! lol). The camera now goes straight on the draw tube for a little more inward focus. If you're lucky the 200P will have one too. :)

Jaskel,

A T thread adaptor won't help unless the focus tube is short enough and already has a male T thread on the end. You need about 55mm of inward travel from the normal focus point to position the camera correctly.