Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

2nd night with scope some sucess some issues HEQ5 200p

I am very new to astronomy and bought a HEQ5 Synscan with 200p on Friday. Monday managed to get outside and see Jupliter and the four moons - very impressive. Tonight I got to see Jupiter again, M31 and the ring nebula. I find it quite astonishing that I can see so much detail, especialy Jupiter.

I do have one small quirk tonight. Using a two star alignment (vega & Dubhe), the scope tracks to the ring nebula perfectly to the center of the EP. Jupiter it is always out and I had to move the finder and 200p back to center.

Any ideas why the ring nebula is perfectly centered and Jupiter is not, could I have aligned on the wrong stars? Could my polar alignment be causing the problemm certainy my compass needs binning, it seems to stick a lot.

Any thoughts from the experts?

David

I don't know about the EQ version of sysncan, but my alt/az version does like to work in segments of the sky. It's more accurate in an 8th sector - once I step outside that it goes a bit less accurate until I make PAE corrections for the new sector (if that makes sense).

What I'm saying is that widespread objects are often not centred - close together ones are no problem. It could also be a levelling issue as mentioned above and an accurate compass helps - and do allow for magnetic/true north difference. :o

Thanks for the replies.

I must admit I did not check to see if I was level - an amateur mistake, I was in too much of a rush to see what was out there in case the clouds rolled in.

I know I need to work on my Polaris alignment, I did a rough alignment, but could not see the reticule in the polar scope - black lines at night do not show up very well :()

So far I love the scope and mount and have had a lot of fun setting it up and starting to learn about how telescopes and mounts work.