NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

AS Product Design Project idea

Peter Reader

Hi everyone!

I've just started 6th form and I'm currently studying Product Design. As a project I think I want to build a Dobsonian telescope...

I've got a very old 114mm aperture Newtonian reflector on a wobbly equatorial mount so I thought I could use it's primary, secondary, focuser, EP's and spider for the project and build the rest.

Does anyone have any tips/plans/material ideas or any other potentially useful information before I embark on this project?

Thanks

Pete :icon_salut:

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello Pete,

that would be a really nice AS project, i think.

Here are a couple of things to look at.

1. The Orion Starblast is a short small newtonian - although it comes with a traditional cylindrical tube, you could make a square tube.

Orion StarBlast 4.5 Astro Reflector Telescope | Orion Telescopes

2. For something a little different, but still a small dob - here is "a scope like Alice".

A Scope Like "Alice"

and pics:

A Scope Like Alice: Pictures

its a bit bigger scope, but you could scale down.

most telescope makers would use 12mm ply (though you would probably get away with 8mm) - but you could look at different materials - mdf, aluminium.

Good luck, Callum

Thanks for that. I've now got a lot to think about!

As I don't own a Dobsonian I have a question: How is the telescope held in position? I can see the tube is on a rocker (I think) but how do you prevent the telescope from moving once in position?

Thanks

Pete

Hi Pete,

the mount stays in position just by friction, as others have said here.

but the tube does need to be fairly well balanced, at the point where it turns (in altitude). If its too out of balance, then the friction won't hold it in place.

Callum

Hi Pete

Sounds like a great project - good luck!