Total beginner Please help !

Hi everyone, this is the first forum i have joined so i hpoe that i am doing things right. I have decided to buy the other half a telescope, we spend every night outside in the garden and wonder what we are looking at in the sky. I would love to have some advice about which telescope would be the best buy as i do not know where to start. We live in Harrow so there is quite a lot of light pollution around. My budget would be about £200. Could anyone help please? Many thanks Ziggy :-)

Download "Stellarium" to your PC (it comes in Linux and Apple flavours too)

Stellarium

It's free, dead easy to use and will help you find all sorts of stuff

The other thing I find really helpful is the book "Turn left at Orion" you can easy get a copy from Amazon and it's not expensive

I'll let the more cleverer peeps here help you with the scope as I only have proper knowledge of the one I own.

Have fun :)

The 130P or the 150P with RA motor on an eq mount would be my preferred choice with that budget. The first will leave a bob or two for mandatory accessories (power, ep's, collimator, etc) and the second will give views of more objects but a bit less for extras.

Beware of where you will use it, whether or not it needs to be portable, light pollution, size. weight and storage. Have a good look at second hand before buying brand new - you'll get a lot more for your money and if bought from other astronomers you will mostly find it's well looked after.

Hope that helps :)