Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Massless mass

Hi all

I am slowly trying to educate myself and have read a number of books which both provide me with information and some knowledge (some of it sinks in) but also a lot of confusion.

Having no formal training in physics apart from my O level, I am a definite novice, hence my confusion! :blob10:

I read recently that 'light is heavy' and hence its path gets bent by gravity. This made me think. I always though that light (photons) were without mass and hence their ability to travel at the speed of light with other electromagnetic particles. BUT I also thought that mass = stored energy.

So, my question is assuming light has energy, where does that energy come from if it has no mass? The answer is presumably related to the fact that something with mass gains more mass and not speed as it approaches the speed of light and therefore I have it wrong that mass = stored energy or that at least don't understand some of the methods by which the energy within mass is converted for 'use'?

Sorry for the long winded question but hopefully you follow it :)

Please provide a Layman's answer as I don't understand complex maths.

Cheers

Shane

My thought is light/photon doesn't have rest mess, but it has mass when has momentum.

Well momentum is just mass time velocity...

You need special relativity to understand this. An object with rest mass gains in mass as its speed increases, the formula is

m(v) = m(0) / sqrt(1 - v^2 / c^2)

so when v is small compared with c (the velocity of light) m(v) is nearly equal to m(0), but tends to infinity as v approaches c (v^2/c^2 tends to 1).

A photon has zero rest mass but does have mass/energy because it travels at the speed of light - its mass would be zero if it was travelling at any other speed. The energy of a photon is dependent on its frequency (shorter wavelength = higher frequency = more energy) and the effective mass can be obtained from E=mc^2.