NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Dob questions

I'm looking at buying a dob for winter. I currently have an ED80 and came to the dawning realization that because i'm purely a visual observer i would be a lot better off if i swapped my tiny APO for a not so tiny reflector. On the cheap side I could go with the GSO dob, although telescope house have stopped selling these, Telescope-service in germany still sell them. There is also the synta skyliner dobs, i have no experience with these and have not really heard anything about them. There is also the Orion intelliscope dobs which I quite like the sound of due to the DSC's. I'm thinking that the 10" would be a nice size thats still portable and large enough to impress me.

What are peoples thoughts about these 3 sorts of dobs, any personal experiences? Other than the obvious differences in price, what are the relative merits of each sort?

Any thoughts appreciated!

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Can't comment on the GSO range as they are only available from outside UK(?).

Have sold many of the 8 and 10" Skyliners and had nothing but positive feedback.

Don't sell Orion's but from what I can tell, they have the same Synta mirror-sets as the Skyliners.

More recently, Meade's Lightbridge Truss Dobs seem to have found their feet. They are receiving favourable reviews and becoming increasingly popular. The Lightbridge range use the same mirror-sets and focusers as the GSO models but better construction, finish and finder-scope. The argument for a Truss Dob increases along with the aperture size so, not surprisingly, the 12" is the most popular.

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/products.php?cat=31

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/products.php?cat=36

Hope that helps.

As I only observe from my back garden, i have no need for the portability that I would pay so much for in the lightbridge scopes