Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Light pollution filter + adaptor help

Having been spoilt with lovely dark skies at the SSP, now I'm back in the city I've decided to invest in a light pollution filter for my Canon 10D (just to do star trails etc, I'm still learning!)... I was going to get this one:

Light Pollution Reduction - Skywatcher Light Pollution Filter

but I think I need to get some sort of step-down adaptor cos my lens is 58mm and the filter is 2 inches (50.8mm)?

I don't seem to be having problem finding 58-52mm adaptors online and I was wondering if that was close enough? Or am I trying to perform the impossible?!

Any tips greatly appreciated,

ta muchly

Emz

You'll probably have to make up one from two T adapters. One to go from the 2" to a T and then one from the camera to a T. Telescope Service have a huge range of adapters so you should be able to sort something out.

http://www.teleskop-express.de/shop/index.php/language/en/cat/c144_Astrofoto----Adapterringe----Digital.html

John

No, I think Emz is asking about the front lens on the stock EOS, which is threaded AFAIK for 58mm filters. I think her idea is to screw in a 2" LP filter to that. I had a look and could not find something exactly matching, but it would be far cheaper than an EOS clip if one exists

Hi. Two things to think about. First what optical characteristics are you hoping for? Some filters are better than others and that is reflected in the price. Second, where do you want it to fit? Usually filters are made to fit into 1.25" or 2" eyepieces. some are available to clip into cameras. You can also but the glass blanks from some manufacturers.

Light pollution filters really are a big subject. If you can borrow one or two to try out for a day or two and get a feel for the result, that is much cheaper than buying the wrong one!