Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hot AND cold ?????

The thing is it's not a heater like a radiator. The cooling settles the air currents in the tube and the dew band keeps the mirror just at or above the ambient temperature to prevent dew forming on it's surface (as I understand it). Half or one degree is usually enough to stop the dew. Sometimes body heat just standing next to the tube can affect the air inside it :)

Rooster, you don't say what type of scope you have.

If it is a refractor, or an sct/mak, a simple dew shield may be enough (I got a piece of black card from Hobbycraft and simply use a rolled piece over the front of the scope).

If it is a newt of some sort, I have no experience of these so cannot help.

A quick explanation of Dew and Dew point -

The air, a mixture of gases, also contains water vapour (ie water in the form of a gas). At any particular temperature the amount of water vapour in the air, which is variable, is called the "humidity" often expressed as a percentage (%). Zero percent has no water vapour at all in the air and 100% is air that is said to be saturated with water vapour (this saturation level varies with temperature. It does NOT mean the air is 100% water vapour!! just that the air can "hold" no more water vapour at that particular temperature). Again, at any particular temperature, there is only a certain amount of water vapour that the air can "hold".

The warmer the air the more water vapour it can hold.