Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

what 127 Mak to go for?

This weekend I was ready to purchase the Skywatcher SKYMAX-127 SynScan AZ GOTO, and im not sure why this has slipped my radar, but Celestron has the Nexstar 127 SLT,

Does anyone own or tried the 127 slt or is it NEW?

Is it best to go for Skywatcher or Celestron?

Or are they both the same with different badges on :rolleyes:

Any advice will be very helpful.

I got a Nexstar 127 SLT just over a week ago and, with my very limited knowledge, I think it's a nice scope.

The alignment is easy, just pick 3 bright stars that are a fare distance apart, centre in the eyepiece one at a time and press the "Align" button on the hand controller. Once you've done all three stars it checks it's data base and tells you it happy. Then you can start with a tour of the sky or use the Nexstar program to build your own list and use the lappy to control the scope.

I've only had one clear night since it arrived so I'm no expert.

My first nights viewing I got Jupiter when it was about 15° above the horizon and could make out the main cloud bands using the supplied 25mm eyepiece. :D

The 9mm that also comes with it didn't really focus correctly on Jupiter and I ended up looking at a fuzzy ball.

For the price, I think I did the right thing going for the Nexstar over the SkyMax.

I just need some clear skys!!

I have the skywatcher and its a nice scope... if you can hold out for a short while im sure your going to see a price drop on the SW as in the last few months ive seen them upgraded with a 2" diagonal and now a nice new colour scheme... Something tells me they are trying to keep up with the Jones's and stay ahead in the market ;-)