Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First Scope: Skymax 127 Supatrak or Skywatcher 150p EQ3-2?

Scope for a noob (see post for requirements)  

1 member has voted

1. 1. Scope for a noob (see post for requirements)

• SkyMax 127 Supatrak
    • Skywatcher Explorer 150p EQ3-2
    • Niether of these... They're rubbish.

Note to Mods: Please feel free to move this to the 'Beginners Help and Advice' forum as I posted here in error. Sorry 'bout that. Got lost.

---------------------------------------------

Hi all,

Firstly, my name is Matty and I'm a total noob. :)

I've done a fair bit of research and I've begun Ninian Boyle's beginners e-course to get a feel for the hobby before purchasing my fist scope in June.

I am totally torn on which scope to get, but I have settled on one of the following:

SkyMax 127 Supatrak

Skywatcher Explorer 150p EQ3-2

I understand that the SkyMax is more portable, better for planets, etc., whilst the Explorer is better for DSO's and has a greater aperture, giving higher contrast views.

I am interested in the possibility of astrophotography and I expect my interest will be the planets at this point. Most of all, I want to buy a scope that will be able to serve as my only scope for the next few years. As I've already said, I'm starting from scratch with this hobby. I live in a relatively high light pollution area (suburban) and I am considering the Mak as I like the idea of a quick, easy set up over the EQ3-2 150p should I venture out into the night away from the dreaded LP.

I'm looking forward to contributing here and I would really appreciate some advice on which scope to start with. Please ask if you need more info.

Thank you very much indeed. ;)