NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

QHY9 Colour or not

Catanonia

Convince me, so close to making the purchase.

QHY9 Colour or Mono with filters for an extra £400.

Considering I am coming from a DSLR modded.

Alot of money, about £1800 for the mono with filter wheels, but is it worth it considering the UK etc or will the colour version do.

Help me out, give me pro's and con's please.

Cat

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There's a certain argument that says....

RGB with a mono doesnt take that much longer than OSC to get similar results... and you will have the better result with Narrowband and the mono than Narrow band and the OSC...Steve L does Narrowband with OSC CCD...

Let the dedicated CCD crowd come in with their opinions......

Are you considering any of the other 8300 based cameras... ?

I studied this quite carefully using Atik 4000 mono and colour, both of which I have here.

For a given image quality mono is faster - yes really. But getting something workable is maybe quicker in the colour. Losing Narrowband is a huge price to pay though. I do like both but if I only had one it would be mono. The OSC is one of those luxuries in which I can indulge because I run a B and B for astronomers and need simultaneous imaging facilities! (And trying to run two LRGB images at the same time was a nightmare.)

OSC likes longer exposures. How's your guiding?

Final quality? Not much in it, less than you'd think. I get the feeling that faint things are better in the OSC but M42 came out a draw for me.

I agree that you should look at something like the Atik 8300. Incredible price and fine chip.

Cheers,

Olly

I did hear about some QA issues with QHY9's but I'm not sure if that was just the early models and it's been sorted, internet myth or something else but if you're laying out a few quid on this then I'd do my homework and choose carefully.