Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skywatcher 150p/pl what to expect?

I'm looking for a Skywatcher 150p or pl ..not decided yet. It will be the new black one.

The question is what can expect to see? I don't want to spend hundreds just to look at a glowing spec of light. I want to see planetary detail etc. Obviously I know because of the size/entry level scope that the viewing isn't going to be hubble detail :) but if there are any images that people have taken through the scope to give a good representation that would be great.

I'm new to this myself, but from what I've read so far you simply can not expect to see what you see in images from a similar scope. Where a long exposure shot will show colour and vast detail, to the naked eye against the eyepiece you will see monochrome and much less resolved detail.

John

You can see planetary details with that scope but it will take practice and patience to see them. It's the same with larger scopes as well - astronomy is not really a hobby of quick and easy "wins" with the exception of the moon which is spectacular in any scope. As you learn a bit about what you are looking at, the appreciation grows so even faint fuzzy patches take on a real fascination when you realise what you are seeing.

As astoc says though, don't expect to see what the photos show - even with larger scopes our eyes cannot compete with CCD's and image processing.

It's all about seeing it for yourself - well it is for me :). I have an explorer 150 and it blew my mind when I saw a grey elliptical blob of light. This particular blob was the Andromeda Galaxy - so you're looking 2,500,000 years into the past at a different galaxy. Wooh!

So it aint Hubble level by any means, but you are seeing it for your self.

Same with the planets; the first time you actually see Jupiter and it's moons or Saturn - amazing. Just that's it's tiny, and there's no huge colour contrast. BUT, you, are seeing it with your own eyes.