Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

SkyWatcher Heritage 76

OK to start off with I am a new newbie to using a telescope of any sort. I have always been interested in looking at the stars and have been doing some OU courses on astronomy. My gf bought me a SkyWatcher Heritage 76 reflector telescope recently and I have been having a look at what I can see in the night sky (when it is clear which is not very often at the moment!!)

The details of the telescope are:

Primary mirror diameter = 76mm

Focal Length 300mm (f/4)

Eyepieces = 25mm and 10mm Super MA (1.25")

Alt-Azimuth Mount

My question is what sort of detail should I be expecting with this telescope? The first time we tried it we had a full moon to look and using the 25mm eyepiece it definitely looked better than using the naked eye but if I am honest not much better really...

Mars sticks out like a sore thumb in the night sky at the moment but using the 25mm or the 10mm eyepiece it still just looks like a bright star through the telescope.

I have read a few posts on here about focusing and aligning and letting the telescope aclimatise but I wanted to know, using my spec of telescope what I am expecting to see. I understand that pictures you see in books are from outside our atmosphere and from probes to the planets etc so not expecting anything like that. At the moment though I am not getting anything that a pair of binoculars wouldn't get!!

Is that all I am expecting or is their something (based on peoples experience of starting out) that I am missing??

The reviews and write-up for the telescope implies I should see a lot more detail than I am.

Any hints, tips and advice would be greatly appreciated. I would be very cool to see something other than slightly brighter specs in the sky...

ac