Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

I NEED SCOPE!!!

Hi guys.  Basically I've decided it's about time a got a new telescope and I need some help because there are so many to choose from.  I've been looking around for a while now and just can't make the decision.  I know I want a Newtonian reflector but haven't decided whether or not to stick the the trusty equatorial or go with a dob.

Being a student I'm on a pathetic budget so any advice would be vastly appreciated. 

Can some tell me if they've heard of Seben, it's a German firm who have a very reasonably priced 8" Reflector called the Seben Navigator II.  I haven't found any reviews thus far so I am afraid to commit.  Also would you check out the dobsonian on sale at the following link:

http://www.warehouseexpress.com/index.cfm?Astro/bushnell/reflector.html?cd=20061715

Again, ridiculously cheap so, is it any good???

Thanks

Myg0t

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Mygot, welcome to SGL.

I can't recommend seben as they tend to (mass) produce poor quality equipment cheaply and whilst you may save money, it would most likley be a frustrating experience which would probably put you of astronomy, and nobody wants that!

The 6" dob from warehouse express for £99 is probably a good buy, but for a little more you can have a 8" revelation dob from telescope house which has better optics and more aperture. You can get the 10" version for £330 or even cheaper if you are willing to buy second hand (check out the buy and sell section here, i know that James is selling his 10" for £175 which is an absolute bargain)

All in all it depends on what you want to do and what you want to look at. Dobs are great for deep space objects and are pretty good on planets too, but they dont track (unless you buy an eq platform) and can become a pain for storage as they are large. If planets are your thing then a longer focal length scope is probably more suited on an EQ mount that can track.