NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Which scope/mount for imaging?

This year, I would like to try my hand at imaging and would appreciate some advice, please :D

I am an experienced photographer so favour using a regular digital SLR before moving on to a purpose-made imaging CCD.

Budget for scope, mount, filters ... whatever, is £1,000 (though I would be chuffed if I can do it for less :D)

What should I be considering?

Expect lots of questions :D

Thanks

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

That £1000 is going to have its work cut out! :D

Probably (I already have a camera) :|

Here's the first of many questions:

In photography, an f4 lens is an f4 lens. Is this also the case when astro-imaging? For example, other than a theoretical increase in resolution, is their a benefit to having a 10" f4 scope over an 8" f4?

If you increase the aperture but keep the focal ratio the same you get identical images (for a given exposure time) but the scale will be larger.

Are you sure?

In photography, a 200mm f4 lens has twice the mag' (and so less FOV) of a 100 f4 but the exposure times are the same...

I'm guessing to keep under a grand theres going to be an ED80 in your future.... :D

Perhaps, but... Will it be better to go for an 8" f4 Newt for its shorter exposure times and greater resolution - which must be good? Or, an f7.5 APO for its compact size and contrast?