Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi Guys, New astronomer needing help with CCD :)

Hi Im new to SGL so first of all hello to everyone :) Ive just bought a skywatcher explorer 200p 8" (eq5) as my first scope and really wanting to get into astrophotography so need some advice on which webcam or ccd imager to buy. I want to get a dslr eventually but unfortunately funds dont allow that at the minute. Thanks for reading this, any advice is welcome :)

• Replies 48
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You could try something like the Philip SPC900, it'll work on the moon and planets, and if you mod it (or get astronomiser to do it) you can use it for deep sky. It can be had, if you can find one, from Amazon for about £80-90.

Hi The_PSY3NTIST, if you wish to go down a cheap route just to check what you can do and see, yesterday I took a usb webcam apart, took the lens off and attached it to the lens of the telescope, very good pictures on the computer were to be had. A word of warning, do not touch the ccd or you will have problems. I bought a couple of cheap cams from Argos for the purpose of experimenting.

Jim

Haha yeh ive noticed already :) I have a list of things I want already that amounts to about £700 :s lol. All good fun though :) thanks for that advise. The Phillips one you mentioned looks to be the best i have seen so far but i can get the Celestron NexImage Solar System CCD Imager for the same price. Which of the two would be the best? do you know if the NexImage CCD Imager has long exposure?

You may also need to mod the focuser - I seem to remember people having to mod things to get more in-focus (i.e. be able to put the top of the focuser closer to the secondary mirror).

I've not tried it, but something you may well like to look into (I certainly don't have enough in-focus travel to get my DSLR to focus on my 300 dob).