NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

HOW TO UTILIZE DSLR to TAKE PHOTOS (2)

I am new to the astro photography world, but have taken some pics. I have seen the vignette view of pics of the moon like looking down tunnel, and just assumed my lens wasn't close enough to the sensor but now i know better. My equipment i have is

Canon 1000D

Celestron Astromaster 130mm

Canon T-Ring

Celestron T-Adaptor

10mm Lens w/ scope

I can get some good pics, but not excellent pics as realtor has shown.

How should i go about getting a better shot of the moon as a whole, rather then either to much zoom (3/4 moon)????

rio

I can get some good pics, but not excellent pics as realtor has shown.

How should i go about getting a better shot of the moon as a whole, rather then either to much zoom (3/4 moon)????

rio

Hi,

There are a couple of things here. Firstly, as to image scale, the telescope is acting like a fixed length lens on the front of your camera. As you can't zoom it, the image size is fixed, so if you're seeing 3/4 of a moon, each pic will be 3/4 of a moon. To change this, you'll need to change the 'scope - just like changing a different camera lens - or change the camera to one that has a smaller sensor on it. Alternatively, you could go for eyepiece projection, but with a single eyepiece, you would be limited to what that would show you in area too.

As to how people take photos of the moon - generally with webcams and create a mosaic by stitching them together. As a webcam has a smaller chip than the Canon, you get a correspondingly smaller area of moon in each shot.

Webcams are used as you can take many hundreds of pictures as an image sequence and then "stack" them. This enables you to overcome some of the atmospheric effects you can see when looking at the moon (heat haze effects).