Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

EQ5 Mount Fault

Hey guys. I'm relatively new to astronomy, having bought my first "large" telescope at the end of August, namely the Skywatcher Explorer 200p on the EQ5 mount. However the EQ5 seems to have developed a fault. Around 6 weeks after purchase i was bringing the scope and mount back indoors after a cold night under the stars, and i usually lower the latitude on the mount when it's back indoors due to paranoia about leaving it at around 56 degrees. Unfortunately the rear latitude adjustment screw was stuck fast in the back of the mount, which i'm fairly sure was a result of the end of the screw having been deformed in some way, perhaps by the sheer weight of the OTA! Anyway, it's away getting repaired right now and i was wondering where i went wrong with this? I would tend to mount the OTA on the EQ5 before adjusting latitude for polar alignment, which may have caused the problem. Also is it common to simply keep a telescope at the appropriate latitude all the time anyway?

Thanks for any light you guys can shed on the matter.

When I purchased my 150P the guy in the shop made a real big deal about the latitude adjustment. He emphasised that you MUST make sure that the opposing adjustment screw is slackened off or you WILL bend one of the screws.

He even went to the trouble of giving me a demonstration on a display model and then insisted that I had a go, to demonstrate that I had understood what he had done. At the time I felt it was a bit OTT and patronising, but I now realise how easy it would be to damage one of the screws.

I am a newbie so my experience is fairly limited but it sounds like you could have fallen foul of this. :headbang:

Personally I leave the latitude adjustment fixed in position and just remove the OTA if it is not going to be used for a few days.