Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Aligning your polar scope, have you done it?

Hi All

I'm no expert at this game and never will be but I'm happy if I can to help someone with my limited knowledge and from my past mistakes. Heres one of my mistakes, I just didn't see the need for it. But I can tell you that it wil improve the tracking of your mount many folds.

Set your mount up as per usual and WITHOUT your scope on align Polaris just under the 'Cross hairs' of your polar scope by adjusting the Altitude and Azimuth of your mount. Now slacken the RA locking device off and slowly turn/rotate 180 degrees (try looking at the same time though your polar scope NOT EASY watch you don't damage your eye) if Polaris is still in the same place then your Polar scope is aligned, but 99 times out 100 it won't be! so in fact your not really polar aligned are you??

Now slacken off and tighten your Polar scope adjusting screws by very small amounts until Polaris is half way back to the center of the reticule. Now recenter Polaris to the bottom of your cross hairs via the Azimuth and Altitude adjusters on your mount. Rotate back 180 degrees and check again. Keep doing this slowly and gently so you don't damage your polar scope and you will see just how far your original setting were out by. I'm learning that this is the minimum Polar alignment but at this point I can't be bothered with downloading Polaris positions and adjusting accordingly.

Hope this helps someone, it made a big difference to my tracking.

Thanks! I must admit, I did vaguely try... Particularly the guide book method re. aligning the polar scope coaxially with the mount axis? But, back then, it seemed to be an INDOOR (and time consuming!) project only and, with weights (variously) removed or in place, I mostly remember it was notable for pinching FINGER (flesh) rather severely! :icon_eek: