Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

I'm a beginner looking for a first telescope...

Hello,

I’m totally new to astronomy, but very interested in learning the skies and buying a telescope. I’d be mainly using it in the back garden and/or out of my large attic room window where I could leave it set up. Portability isn’t a huge issue. I’d like to look at all things in the sky, moon, planets and DSO. Would that be a problem when deciding which telescope? Are there specific scopes for specific objects/purposes? Also at some point I’d like to take photographs of the images I’m seeing.

I’ve been doing a little research on telescopes and will be continuing to do a lot more but could do with a helping hand. I have a budget of about £600 but would stretch that to £1000 if the extra money would give me significantly better equipment.

Lastly, any advice on just starting out and buying equipment in general would be great.

Thank you,

Jack.

If you only want to observe and don't plan to move to photography and want to locate objects by yourself I would recommend one of this:

Dobsonians - Skywatcher Skyliner 200P Dobsonian

Dobsonians - Skywatcher Skyliner 250PX Dobsonian

If at some point you may want to go into astrophotography and would like a goto setup to help you find objects, then one of this:

Reflectors - Skywatcher Explorer 200P HEQ5 PRO

Advanced Series GOTO - Celestron C8-N GT (GOTO)

You should try and keep the telescope under 700, cause it's easy to find accessories for the extra 300 once you know what you want and need.

Wait for some more replies before making your mind. I'm a bit of a newbie so it's better to take some more experienced opinion before you spend your cash.