Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Dew Shield

Nik C

Hello All

Just joined the forum.

I'm quite new to atronomy, bought a scope about 18 months ago (Skywaycher 250 on HEQ5 GoTo mount) but between doing up a house and cloudy skies usage has been a bit limited - but what I have done has been great fun (highlights - Moon, Saturn, Jupiter, Orion Nebula).

I was away in Weymouth recently and wished I had my scope with me as the dark skies were great (London to the north and Guildford to the south at home) so I have just bought a 6 month old Skymax 127 on GoTo mount as a grab and go scope as the 250 is not that mobile!!

I've read that a dew shield is recommended with a Mak and was wondering if anyone had advice on which one to buy, whether a shield by itself is enough or if I need a heated one.

Thanks

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome to SGL, Nik. :D The corrector plates on Maks and SCTs are dew-magnets.. trust me, i've got one of each, lol. You can easily and affordably make a dew shield from a thin styrofoam camping mat but TBH i'd use it in tandem with some sort of dew prevention system. If you want a quick fix, a hair dryer (low heat, low fan) can be used instead of the dew prevention system but it's merely postponing the inevitable and needs to be constantly repeated throughout the session.

TBH I find most nights in the UK that a sheild on its own is enough to keep the dew at bay.

Not here in Wisconsin. :D I think it might be because my day/night temp fluctuates so greatly, though. Yesterday it was 26C but went down to 8C by the time i went home... everything was absolutely dripping.