Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Jupiter with Nexstar 102slt and cheap webcam!!

tarqs101

Hi,

As you know I'm very new to astrophotography, had a couple of attempts over the last fortnight. Tried again last night with my Celestron Nexstar 102 SLT and a very cheap webcam (10 quid from tesco!) Stacked 360 frames and tweaked.

Here is the final result. Please be as critical as you like but remember it was a very cheap webcam!!

Gavin

Jupiter-200809 editied.bmp

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Hi Jon,

I'm not using any filters, would you recommend a IR filter? I got 370 frames and stacked 30, how many would you recommend?

Also, I can get 30FPS out the webcam, would that be better?

Gavin

Hi Gavin,

An IR filter is recommended though not essential.

I think you are only supposed to image Jupiter for about 1 minute before you start to get rotational blurring. If you are using 10fps this equates to a stack of 600 images. You would hopefully want to stack at least half (300) 10X more than you used on your image.

Don't go above 10fps. The image quality will suffer.

Look here for an excellent tutorial:

http://stargazerslounge.com/primers-tutorials/40665-primer-planetary-imaging-toucam.html

Cheers

Jon

Hi Gavin, that's real progress you've made!

I won't say a uv/ir-cut filter is mandatory, but it will help.

Try 'WXAstrocapture' software (free download ) it's a simple interface to all the camera settings.. ( I can't guaranty it'll work with your camera tho')

I'll disagree with rawhead on fps.. more fps can sometimes help against "seeing" being poor, but the other settings must be juggled with it to find the best exposure.. eg, see my avatar.. done in poor seeing @ 30 fps. All settings are interdependant and camera-specific, and dictated by the target and conditions. There are no rote rules to 'one size fits all'.