NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

I think I need a Refractor ?

Hi

I’m fairly new to the hobby and have read quite a bit, and with the naked eye can find my way around the sky, I now feel im ready for a scope but im still not sure which type of scope will do the job, as always I want everything ?, so I thought I would write down what id like and my budget and then maybe I can get some useful pointers

What do I want to see ?, Planets followed by Clusters \ Nebula etc

In the future I would like to attempt photography using my DSLR and possibly a CCD – so which ever scope I go for I need to bear this in mind ?

My scope budget is £800 – I can cope with extras for the scope down the line so it needs to be upgradeable (if that makes sense)

I look forward to reading thoughts ?

Regards

John B

London

Just to clarify, is the £800 budget is for mount + 'scope, or just the 'scope? i.e. you have a mount already, or will budget separately for that

If it's both and you want to go for imaging down the line, i'd sink as much as possible into the mount - that might seem odd, but it's cheaper long-term. A used 80ED can be found for £150, and it's a decent 'scope that covers everything pretty well from planetary viewing to deep-sky imaging. Then sink the £650 into a mount - that will pick up a HEQ5/pro with £150+ to spare or might get a EQ6/Pro.

In the future, get something like a William Optics ZS66 or Megrez 72 and the field flattener (probably £250-300 used), guide with the 80ED and a QHY5 or Meade DSI (£100ish used) and off you go.

If you want to start out visually then trying imaging later on you might find a 80mm a little on the small side. A 8" Newt on a HEQ5 is well within budget and will do very well visually, you could then get a small refractor like the ED80 and the GOTO upgrade later on when you want to give imaging a go.