Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Tal vs Skywatcher

I'd appreciate anyones comments on how my little Tal 1 compares in quality to say a Skywatcher Explorer 150 / 200 or Skyliner 200 dob. I've only had the Tal for a month, but I'm bitten by the bug and therefore have aperture fever! I've found some additional funding, about enough to go for a new Skyliner 200 or bigger second hand item.

I've read a lot of comments on how good the Tals are quality wise, and have found mine to be highly satisfactory. I'm hoping I won't see a drop in build quality, or at least not enough for a total novice to notice. I've only ever used the Tal so I'm totally in the dark (not that it gets very dark in my back garden!) where other manufacturers are concerned.

I'd like the opportunity to get a better look at the fuzzies, which are just about visible in my location with the Tal, when the moon and planets aren't about.

Thanks!

I have the Skywatcher 200 OTA which purchased with the EQ5 mount. The OTA is the same as the SKyliner 200 (as far as I know) and I have to say, the scope performs brilliantly. Unfortunately I had to part with my EQ5 due to shortage of funds, but I'm in the process of converting the OTA into a dob.

For the price, I dont think the SKywatcher range can be beat. Both the optical and mechanical quality is spot on, in my opinion. I'd go with the Skyliner 200 if I were you.

ANdy

I own a Tal 1 and a Skywatcher 200 and they are both very good scopes.

I find the skywatcher to be well constructed and it certainly gives great views.

There have been a few for sale recently, second hand, at very reasonable prices.