NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Have I chosen the right scope

Good evening stargazers, I am the proud owner of a new telescope, but have doubts on it,s capabilities after reading some reviews on my particular model.

I have a National Geographic telescope, specs below.

Manufacturer's Description

National Geographic 76mm Newtonian Telescope

76mm Primary Mirror, 3 interchangable eyepieces, Aluminium full height tripod, Altazimuth mount with vertical fine adjustment and lock

Box Contents

76mm Primary Mirror

3 interchangable eyepieces

Aluminium full height tripod

Altazimuth mount with vertical fine adjustment and lock.

Can anyone help with some advice on this scopes capabilities with regards to the claims of performance etc.

Hope that all makes sence.

Regards

Tony

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The claims I have read earlier today are that the scopeis not up to the task of it's claims of 525 magnification.

I am new to stargazing, and would welcome any help in firstly determining if I have bought the right type of scope, if not, then what would be the best type for best results?

The claims I have read earlier today are that the scopeis not up to the task of it's claims of 525 magnification.

I am new to stargazing, and would welcome any help in firstly determining if I have bought the right type of scope, if not, then what would be the best type for best results?

Hi Tony,

The general rule is max magnification is 50 x diameter in inches, but more achievable is 30ish. Whatever mag you get, you are then limited by atmospherics to around 200-300 (depending on the weather - although in excellent conditions you can push it further). Given you have a 3 inch 'scope, max practical mags are likely to be 100-150.

Whilst it is probably true the eyepieces together with the 'scope will physically do 525x, but you will find that they give horrible views that show you nothing.