Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Not the best M51

Hi 

This is my  attempt with off M51. Started this project in January how ever so much cloud!

Defiantly not the best image. Did struggle with the flat frames. I must bite the bullet and give the lens a clean. 

Telescope used: ES102mm APO AT f7 on a AVX mount

Camera  used: ZWO 385MC camera in  bottle 5 skies. 

Settings used , 

Gain 135 

Exposure 120s

Integration time around  30 hours 

Darks and flats used, Finished in PS.

Of course pointers for improvement welcome

Cheers

Dean 

Also attached is the tiff file if you fancy a challenge  😁

30hrs-16bitE120G135.tif

M5130hrs-E120G135.thumb.jpg.fdaccf33e0d52870f0693e75520399a5.jpg

• Like 4

I have had a very quick play and got the image below. There is certainly some good detail in there, but the background gradients need some work to remove.

30hrs-16bitE120G135.jpg

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

1 hour ago, AKB said:

Nice shot, given the challenges.

I'm no expert, but here's my two-pence worth...

Tony

Image144.thumb.jpg.f3df83d2e3b8ba1f7d0aa8dd029a7b18.jpg

Thankyou for your effort. Liking the background and more detail then i managed 👍

43 minutes ago, Clarkey said:

I have had a very quick play and got the image below. There is certainly some good detail in there, but the background gradients need some work to remove.

30hrs-16bitE120G135.jpg

Thankyou Clarkey   Liking the more detail then i managed. Did you pull out   some more smaller fuzzies? Or are they just scratches on the lens? Also did  you PS or other software?

Cheers 

Dean

The image above, although cleaner looking, is heavily black clipped so you loose quite a bit of the faint detail. Don't overdo the black background.