Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Vertical orange and blue banding in ASI585MC images

I've been imaging successfully for two years on my Sky-Watcher Explorer 150P with a modified Nikon D750 - but I now have a new ZWO ASI585MC astro camera so I feel like I'm having to learn things all over again. I have taken some great Moon images, really pleased with those. But an issue that is plaguing my deep sky attempts is obvious, precisely vertical, mostly orange and blue banding in the images. I cannot work out what is causing it. I have attached an overstretched (to highlight the issue) example: 566 x 20", gain 252 offset 10, dithered - but I've tried different settings and it makes no difference. I have stacked in Astro Pixel Processor, which I usually use, and also in Siril - again, makes no difference, the banding is still there. I managed to use Siril's banding reduction to eliminate it, but I'd rather it wasn't there at all. People have suggested maybe my flats are the issue, but it's the same with or without flats, and my master flats look fine to my eye. Any thoughts? There's a UV/IR cut filter and MPCC III coma corrector in front of the camera, fwiw. Is it something about the 585MC?

Banding in stacked 566 frames M81-RGB-crop-lpc-cbg-sr-St.jpg

Hi

Nice image.

A few bits we need:
-power supply
-light source for flat frames
-exposure for flat frames.

For now, simply run the whole pp sequence through Siril's vertical banding before registration.

Cheers

Edited by alacant

I’m currently imaging with my 585mc with a triband filter, gain 252 180s subs. I’ll let you know if I get any of this banding.

I’ve used it briefly back in November with a near full Moon with a UV/IR cut and it didn’t show up. Both that session and the one I’m running right now, are with my 102ed refractor. 

A few thoughts;

1) Could it be high level cloud passing in some of your frames? Does it still show up if you try stacking, say, 10 frames from the start of the session?