Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

DSO imager interested in planetary -- what kit is needed?

Lee_P

Bit of a long story here, but the short of it is that I'm a DSO imager that uses an Askar 130PHQ (focal length 1000mm) and ZWO 2600MC Pro camera. I'm currently having tech issues and as part of troubleshooting swapped out my original ASIAIR Plus for a new-style one (256G). That didn't fix it, but before I send it back to FLO I got to thinking about planetary imaging. This is something I've only very tentatively dabbled in, but I have some knowledge of the basics. The newer ASIAIR I currently have installed is supposed to be better for planetary work -- "Imaging efficiency at short exposures improves by 26%. FPS on video mode improves by 30%."

So what I'm wondering is, if I wanted to delve into planetary, what extra kit would I need?

* A new camera I guess, but what would the options be?
* 1000mm isn't so long; anything that can be done about that?
* Any filters or gadgets to open the door to solar work? (My 'scope is a Petzval-like design, which may be restrictive here).
* Anything else?

If it looks to be too expensive or difficult to try planetary then I'll just send the ASIAIR 256G back to FLO. 

Thanks for any advice!

image.png

5 minutes ago, Lee_P said:

"Imaging efficiency at short exposures improves by 26%. FPS on video mode improves by 30%."

Yeah, I would not really consider that seriously. Best it could read is: FPS potential increased by 30% (but not necessarily actual FPS), and for imaging efficiency - no comment there :D

You need to match pixel size of your planetary camera to F/ratio of the scope of choice. I would use simple telescope design for planetary imaging rather than telescope meant for DSO Imaging. There are some tradeoffs when you aim for good flat field - it usually scarifies diffraction limited performance in center.

Something like 6" F/8 newtonian will eat that Askar for lunch on planets.

Anyway: