NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Is this colimation, tilt or something else

I have been imaging with my LX200 GPS 8" for a couple of years using a 0.8ff/fr and a ASI2600mc. While not brilliant the stars were ok and acceptable to my eye and I produced some OK images (for that set up!)

I then swapped the meade electric microfocuser for a crayford, to allow for autofocus. This required significant movement of the primary mirror to reach focus.  Right away with this focuser my stars went crazy with bad shapes (coma?) accross the entire field. I assumed it was a tilt issue from the new focuser and worked to resolve that with no success.. I then refitted the meade focuser but the problem is still there.

Images to illustrate

These are un debayered single images of 180s with a simple stf stretch apprlied. The PI Abberation Inspector images show the problem more clearly.

Full1png.thumb.png.dea0e8d0f869323a6d25e89f7022b8b3.png

Insp1.thumb.png.bd26bdc9858de57a61be4103bed6540d.png

Full2.thumb.png.388c33b568c34d6bf225fcdfc5a61ff9.png

Insp2.thumb.png.c3b79b7e497e8a2991337a63f8054a71.png

There may be some tracking error in these images but the starshape issue is seen even in 5s images so this is not tracking. 180 s images were my normal exposure previously and did not have this issue.

I did star collimation before these images and thought I had done a reasonable job. But I would not claim a high level of competence in collimation. I know the focus looks soft but it was done with autofocus in APT (I worked out how to get that going on the meade focuser) and I think it is just the abberation that makes it look that way.

Connection to the scope is with a 2 inch nosepiece as its not possible to do a screw connection. And that nosepiece connection was working fine before I messed with the focusers.