Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Celestron dx5 or dx6? Or even the 130

Absolute novice here, to the point I’ve tried searching other posts to find my answer and it’s like your speaking another language, so please be kind 🙂 it’s also why I like the phone function of these models 

Which telescope is better the dx5 or 6 in this series? I live rural in Australia so clear skies & have a 360 degree of the sky, want to be able to see planets and ideally detail in the planets.

Happy to spend the extra of the two models if there is a great deal of difference in detail, but in likelihood we will probably use it for a month or two then bring it out occasionally 

Or is the dx130 ok? It seems to have the same size eye pieces as the dx5 

Thank you in advance! 

For planetary viewing aperture and focal length is what you want - so out of these I would go for the dx6. However, given these are manual Alt-Az mounts (without any form of tracking) at long FL you may struggle to keep the planets in view.

Personally, given your location, I would look at a Dobsonian. Not only are they good for planets, but due to extra light gathering capacity, in dark skies will show you a whole lot more. An 8" Starsense dobsonian is a similar cost to the 6" DX but more versatile.

On a separate note, I was in Australia a few years ago, in rural WA. They were the darkest clearest skies I have ever seen. If you live in rural (dark) Oz, consider yourself very lucky from an Astro point-of-view.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Amazing! Thank you for a great explanation it’s greatly appreciated 

Is this the one what you are referring to? I’d need a tripod to go with it, otherwise I’d get trampled on by horses and cows, we get 42 degrees here in summer so outside is covered for shade unless I go out into the field - is a tripod possible or am I best to stick to the 6”