SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Beginner telescope. Skymax-127 Virtuoso GTi tabletop?

Hello there guys.

I'm currently thinking about purchasing my first telescope and after looking around i have decided to maybe buy the Skymax-127 Virtuoso GTi tabletop telescope as seen here https://www.rothervalleyoptics.co.uk/skywatcher-skymax-127-virtuoso-gti-table-top-maksutov-telescope.html

although the telescope has apps and an automatic mount i will also be wanting to use it manually, i will also be wanting to take photographs using the telescope (mainly by attaching my smartphone to the eyepiece) or if there is a better way by purchasing a specific camera.

Can you guys tell me your thoughts on this telescope, or if you know of any better options out there regarding my needs.

PS im very new to this.

Hi

The virtuoso is a great mount with gotto, freedom find and manual. The mount moves in tiny left right up down movements though imaging is possible within this capability before rates field rotation becomes too visible. The Moon and planets tend to be captured by short videos high frame rate from which an image is extracted. Deep space objects are a different prospect as often quite dim and generally require longer exposures where field rotation can become apparent quite quickly. There's a thread on this mount I'll add a link later

33 minutes ago, gamermole said:

Hello there guys.

I'm currently thinking about purchasing my first telescope and after looking around i have decided to maybe buy the Skymax-127 Virtuoso GTi tabletop telescope as seen here https://www.rothervalleyoptics.co.uk/skywatcher-skymax-127-virtuoso-gti-table-top-maksutov-telescope.html

although the telescope has apps and an automatic mount i will also be wanting to use it manually, i will also be wanting to take photographs using the telescope (mainly by attaching my smartphone to the eyepiece) or if there is a better way by purchasing a specific camera.