SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

First scope - 4" Refractor FPL-53 Doublet - Full Setup Target £2k

Hi fellow SGers 👋

I'm pretty new here but have enjoyed devouring the forum over the past couple of weeks.

I tried to resist buying a scope too early 🙄. I've made my way through a large share of a couple of decent books 🤓, I've been to a star party 🥳, I've played with my binoculars :glasses9:, and now, I can't wait any longer, I'm jumping in 😈.

I will share this hobby with my wife and children (11 & 13). Initially our interest lies in the moon and planets because, as complete beginners, I think there's a lot more awe and amazement to be had seeing our celestial neighbours in greater detail - an instant gratification thing. I think it'll also avoid the disappointment of real-time viewing of nebulae and galaxies as faint, fuzzy, white blurs, compared to the wonders of the universe we see with Brian Cox. Though we would like a scope that would be flexible enough for us to start to explore the milky way and some brighter DSOs with a reasonably wide field of view. We're only interested in viewing at present.     

I live in an international dark sky reserve in Dorset so we'll spend 80% of our time observing from home, though we have far better sites at elevation within a 20min drive that we want to enjoy regularly. For this reason, the setup should be reasonably light and portable

The range of 102 F7 FPL-53 Refractors have caught my eye, and I might be landing on the Tecnosky from Astrograph.

This is what I'm considering, (prices EXCLUDE VAT):

• Tecnosky 102/700 F7 FPL-53 EDO APO Doublet £874
  • Berlebach Spica Alt-Az Mount (£158) with 200mm shaft and a 3kg counter weight (£74)
  • Ibis Obelisk Carbon Tripod with Ball Head (£265)
  • APM 2" Prism Diagonal (£180)
  • APM Super Zoom 7.7mm-15.4mm Constant 67° AFOV (£324)
  • Baader Planetarium Sky Surfer V Red Dot Finder (£91)

Total price (including VAT) £2,360