Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Need help choosing Newt for AP

Hi, I have some experience of doing AP with my Astromaster 130, ASI224mc/ASI533mc on HEQ5Pro. I have purchased the Baader MPCC Coma corrector and that should be arriving this week. The weak link is the Astromaster hence wish to upgrade.

I DONT have an obsy so end up carrying the equipment in and out of the house. I have limited time to image due to work, lack of obsy and Clouds, hence need to make best use of the moments I get for imaging.  So after a lot of reading (and getting confused) I believe I need to look at 6inch aperture. Anything larger would make it too heavy for the HEQ5. I have deliberately stayed away from refractors at this point in time.

The choice that I have narrowed down to is between:

- SW 150pds vs TS Photon 6 f5 (Chris from FLO tells me that TS has a better focuser)

- SW Quattro 6 f4 vs Stellalyra 6 f4 (I would love to go for these but the question is what are the chances that it will lose collimation when I carry it in and out)

I have restricted myself to look at products available on FLO at the moment, but open to suggestions.

Need your advice please.

Edited by AstroMuni
  • Like 1

4 hours ago, NGC 1502 said:

All the best in your endeavours…..however-

Perhaps your enquiry would be better in the “getting started with imaging” section😊

As this was equipment related I posted it here...but seeing the lack of response I guess it would be better suited for the imaging section 😞

@admin if you think this is more appropriate for Imaging section could you move it please?

Edited by AstroMuni
  • Like 1