SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Where to place filters with the ASI533MC Pro

I've just bought the 533 to replace my DSLR and I'm wondering where should I place the filters in my optical train. I have a UV/IR cut filter and the Optolong L-Pro and L-Extreme. My scope is an 80ED refractor with a 0.8x reducer/flattener. I also have a filter drawer that I'll use to change between the L-Pro and L-Extreme. All filters are 2" and I'm shooting from a Bortle 7/8 site. 

I was planning to place the UV/IR cut filter on the telescope end of my reducer/flattener and have the filter drawer between the telescope and the reducer/flattener. The schematic below shows how I plan to arrange the optical train. 

Is this the best way to place the filters or would you suggest a better layout?

Thanks!  

Setup.jpg

I am by no means an expert, but I don't think you would need both the l-pro/l-extreme and the uv/ir cut filter at the same time, it would be one or other. I have a similar setup, and use the l-enhance for nebula, and uv/ir filter for broadband, but never both together.

• Thanks 1

Using more than one filter at a time is usually counter-productive. Since the ASI533MC is a COLOR camera it already has one filter above each pixel. So.. adding more filters is likely to just make frustrating imaging. Here is a more/less typical bayer filter for a COLOR camera:

https://micro.magnet.fsu.edu/primer/digitalimaging/images/cmos/cmoschipsfigure4.jpg