Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

frustrated

mog3768

The only thing wrong with this image is the orientation and the rather odd colour.

Look up "Space Weather" for correct orientation.

Were you using a blue filter?

8 hours ago, mog3768 said:

The colour is because I was using a old colour camera not my usual 178mm . The orientation is because the camera was upside down. Personally don't think it matters

An image of an astronomical object is a historical and "scientific" record of that moment or moments. This is not a trivial matter IMHO.

Would you post a picture of a hijacked bus or a famous person upside down? Presumably not. It would trivialise the moment. :wink2:

• Like 1

NO it is just a hobby and fun .I am NOT a professional if you are going to be that critical of people's posts

Then you are going to put a lot of people who are trying there best off posting  in the future so in my opinion

I don't care for your opinion

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

18 hours ago, mog3768 said:

The colour is because I was using a old colour camera not my usual 178mm . The orientation is because the camera was upside down. Personally don't think it matters

Agreed, I think this looks like a great work of art, that a keen “amateur “ (sorry if that’s the wrong word) has achieved.

I guess there are plenty of “accurate” pictures of the Sun out there already.

I’d be very proud of that picture but then I’m not as professional and expert as some on this forum. 😬

• Thanks 1

9 hours ago, Rusted said:

An image of an astronomical object is a historical and "scientific" record of that moment or moments. This is not a trivial matter IMHO.

Would you post a picture of a hijacked bus or a famous person upside down? Presumably not. It would trivialise the moment.

Anyone wanting a "scientific" record of sunspots could look on the daily SOHO site.